National Leadership Award Recipients Announced

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners will present two prestigious national leadership awards during the opening general session at the AANP 2016 National Conference on June 22 in San Antonio, Texas.

The Sharp Cutting Edge Award was initiated in February 1996 in honor of Nancy J. Sharp, MSN, RN, FAAN, an exemplar in the world of nursing organizational leadership for more than two decades. The award honors an individual who has demonstrated extraordinary service activities on behalf of NPs and has shown efforts to advance the image, profile and visibility of NPs. The recipient of the 2016 award is Richard Meadows, MS, NP-C, FAANP, Chief Executive Officer of the AANP Certification Program. 2016 celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Sharp Cutting Edge Award.

The Towers Pinnacle Award was launched in 2013 by the AANP Board of Directors in honor of Jan Towers, PhD, NP-C, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, an accomplished and much admired leader in the NP movement, devoting her career to advocating for the NP role by supporting activities that advance and expand NP practice. The award goes to an individual who has demonstrated ongoing advocacy activities that elevate and highlight NP contributions in health care. Mary Ellen Roberts, DNP, APN-C, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN, is the 2016 recipient of the Towers Pinnacle Award. Dr. Roberts is past president of the AANP Board of Directors, has served as Chair of the AANP Fellows, and is treasurer of the Board of Commissioners of the AANP Certification Program.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s